Remember

Memories breathe life into the ghosts of our past. Recall a time when you were humiliated and the memory of that time will bring the shame of the past right into your here and now. Remember a loss, a death, and you feel the hurt again—sometimes as raw and sharp as when you stood by the graveside.

I got to thinking about this on my way to work today. If I—in my humanity—can feel a memory as though it were happening to me all over again, how much more does God see, hear, and feel the past?

Jesus is the same yesterday, today, and forever—omniscient, omnipresent, and omnipotent.

Revelation 1:8 – “I am the Alpha and the Omega, says the Lord God, who is and who was, and who is to come. The Almighty.”

gotquestions.org says:
Though we cannot possibly comprehend this idea of eternity or the timelessness of God, we in our finite minds try to confine an infinite God to our time schedule. Those who foolishly demand that God operate according to their time frame ignore the fact that He is the “High and Lofty One . . . who lives forever” (Isaiah 57:15). This description of God is far removed from man’s condition: “The length of our days is seventy years—or eighty, if we have the strength; yet their span is but trouble and sorrow, for they quickly pass, and we fly away” (Psalm 90:10).

Again, because of our finite minds, we can only grasp the concept of God’s timeless existence in part. And in so doing, we describe Him as a God without a beginning or end, eternal, infinite, everlasting, etc. Psalm 90:2 declares, “From everlasting to everlasting You are God” (see also Psalm 93:2). He always was and always will be.

So, God, who remembers EVERYTHING chooses not to remember my sin.

Romans 8:1 says:
1 There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit.

Pay attention to verse 34.

Romans 8:31-34 says:
31 What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? 32 He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him up for us all, how shall He not with Him also freely give us all things? 33 Who shall bring a charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies. 34 Who is he who condemns? It is Christ who died, and furthermore is also risen, who is even at the right hand of God, who also makes intercession for us.

So, in order not to remember my sin, Christ must remember his death instead. Since I sin a lot, (And you sin a lot. And all the sins of the world add up to A LOT of sin. Constant sin every moment of every day in a torrential tsunami of sinfulness.) Jesus must relive the cross constantly. I don’t think I’ve ever thought that through all the way.

When I’ve read the crucifixion and ached with each lash of the whip and each hammer fall to the spike, I think I’ve comforted myself in saying, “But He’s God. It was awful, but He endured it for me.”

And then it was over, right?
image
He endured it and overcame. Jesus conquered sin and death and lives in victory. But is it that simple?

If He must remember His sacrifice and he lives to “intercede” for me, does my Lord live for eternity remembering the pain, shame, humilation, and agony of the cross every moment for the rest of time for my sake? And if he does, then he’s been “remembering” it from before time began, too. He endured the cross from creation onward. Before he formed the world, he endured the cross. I can’t grasp that.

I can’t understand or imagine that kind of Love.

To be GOD and to choose to live with the scars of crucifixion throughout eternity because of what— His great love for us? That’s bananas. B-A-N-A-N-A-S.

He could’ve lived a painless eternity; but, instead, He made us and decided that was worth a painful eternity. Why? How? What a mystery!

Who can understand a love like this? How do we even comprehend it? As a mother, the only experience I have that comes close in comparison is childbirth. Pregnancy was full of discomfort and pain and then it culminated in gut-wrenching labor. But then they handed me my baby. And it was all so worth it. The pain was “forgotten.” My girls were so worth 9 months of puking and two painful c-sections. If I were given the choice to have them or not have them, I would choose to go through my neardeath labor again. Is that how His love is? Is that why he calls us dear, beloved children?

1 John 3:1
3 See how very much our Father loves us, for he calls us his children, and that is what we are!

Let’s remember again how ridiculously blessed we are to have Him for our God!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Remember

  1. I love this article that you wrote Elizabeth, ” It is so full of Wisdom”. So many things that you say about Jesus I would have said or felt. The one with him on the Cross! I am not trying to say I am taking any thing away from you because you are definitly an UNIQUE!!! And Bless From GOD!!! And you have Blessed me. I also was looking at some of your remarks about you and I thought it was so funny about you liking to pinch! Grandma TEE TEE use to do that! HA! You must get it from her girl!!!! I use to get so mad at her when she would pinch me. Now I would give anything to have her pinch me right now!!! I love & miss her so much!!! And EVERYONE!!!! TRULY!!!! Lovingly, Aunt Maggie

    • You got it Aunt Maggie! I am so T.T. My dad says all the time that it’s like looking at his mother 🙂 I get my pinching honest! Thank you for your sweet comments and encouragement!!!

  2. I meant to say, ” Thank GOD for His Forgiveness! Lovingly, Aunt Maggie

Leave a Reply

